Key Rituals of Performing Hajj

Hajj addresses to the ultimate type of ibadah (worship), which involves the essence of other rites and rituals demanding huge effort from the followers. About thousands and millions of Muslims are gathered in order to perform Hajj which is deemed mandatory upon every Muslim. Following we are discussing key rituals of Hajj.

1. Wearing Hajj clothing Ihram

Hajj begins when the pilgrim comes into the state of ihram. Ihram is a white coloured two-piece garment for men and a loose piece of clothing for women to cover whole body in which females are not allowed to cover their hands and face. Ihram signifies equality and unity in sight of ALLAH Almighty, People from all around the world with different languages, colour and creeds declare the oneness of ALLAH Almighty in spite of of the differences.

Whereas after entering into the state of ihram the pilgrim is not allowed to keep putting on cologne or perfume, intimidated wishes, clipping nails, killing animals insects and flies, shaving beard sexual intercourse.

2. Enter into the Masjid Al-Haram

After wearing ihram pilgrim enters into the Masjid-Al-Haram than he or she should enter by reciting talbiyah. Talbiyah comprises of six major parts, marking present in front of ALLAH Almighty, speak out the oneness of ALLAH Almighty, imparting veneration and blessings upon ALLAH Almighty, declaring that dominion belongs completely to ALLAH Almighty along bearing the imaan (faith) that there is no one equal to ALLAH Almighty.

3. Making Niyyah (Intention) for Hajj

Next thing after wearing Ihram and entering into the Masjid-ul-Haram is that pilgrim should set in his heart is Niyyah (intention). The niyyah to be made must base on clean devotion and promise by standing next to the Holy Kaaba with Sacred black stone (Hajr-e-Aswad) to right and reciting talbiyah.

4. Performing circumambulation (Tawaaf)

Tawaaf or circumambulation is the devotional ritual of circulating around Holy Kaaba while reciting prayers and Dua to beg ALLAH'S mercy and forgiveness. One complete round around Holy Kaaba is called shawt and seven rounds make it ashwaat. The pilgrim are not allowed to enter inside the Holy Kaaba nor pilgrim can stop somewhere around it. During Tawaaf the pilgrim when circulating around the Holy Kaabah can kiss and touch the black sacred stone Hajr-e-Aswad pertaining to the Sunnah of our beloved Prophet Muhammad (PBUH).

5. Performing Saaee and moving to Mina

After completing the Tawaaf pilgrim performs saaee. It is the devotional act of running between mountains of Safa and Marwa to honour the devoted attempts of searching water by Bibi Hajar.

6. Arafaat

The pilgrim moves for mount Arafat on 9th day of Zil-hajj. This was the mountain where our beloved Prophet Muhammad (PBUH) delivered his last sermon that confirms to be the best-unified lecture until date for His Ummah.

7. Sacrificing animals and Stoning the shaitaan at Jamraat

On 10th of Zil-Hajj, the pilgrim sacrifices animals (Qurbani) to imitate the divine ritual of Hazrat Ibrahim (AS). Pilgrim also performs the ritual of stoning the shaitaan that is called rami al-Jamrat in Arabic.

Following the Qurbani, males shave their head and women just trim their hair of about finger length.

"All the flights and flight-inclusive holidays on this website are financially protected by the ATOL scheme. When you pay you will be supplied with an ATOL Certificate. Please ask for it and check to ensure that everything you booked (flights, hotels and other services) is listed on it. Please see our booking conditions for further information or for more information about financial protection and the ATOL Certificate go to:
All fares advertised are subject to availability and start from (Fr) the prices we have mentioned on our website. Fares are including taxes. Seats are available on the first-come, first-serve basis. Offers may be withdrawn without notice.